The Promised Land

Well it’s a chain saw kind of day today, I have the need for speed or to tear someone’s or something’s ass up. Can’t think anymore “bout birthin no babies.” So as I oiled up the saw which was adjacent to the bicycle my thoughts gravitated to more enjoyable activity and plans changed instantly. I pumped up the tires, donned my bike clothes and rounded up my 10 pound cloudy white Maltese. I have a basket that clips to the front of the handle bars which he will sit in and watch for adventure as we roll along. He loves to accompany me on the trail almost as much as I like to take him. “Almost” because I know just a little more than he does about chicks. Now he knows what they are but doesn’t understand the term chick magnet he is just happy to attract attention. It is warm out today.

So I put my Sony ear speakers on and off we go to the Promised Land.

“Left my home in Norfolk Virginia, California on my mind”

Our trail is really cool! It is 10 miles of paved and well maintained asphalt that winds through canopied woods and over streams with suspension bridges and many water stops and benches. It has mostly well behaved users who fit the usual profiles, i e bikers joggers walkers and roller bladers. It also has a horse trail in several places. I have in the past seen gators, foxes, rabbits hawks and one coyote. Did I mention that it is warm out?

“Straddled that Greyhound, rode him past Raleigh,
On across Caroline.”

We reached the halfway point and took a refreshment break and began the return trip back. Being outside and enjoying the physical aspect of bicycling (or roller blading or whatever) coupled with the proximity to nature is very stimulating/visceral. That coupled with my mp3 downloads always have me at the top of my game. As we rounded a heavily wooded area and emerged into a sunlit straightaway I see two of natures finest creations approaching, Bo Derek and Cindy Crawford.  And they are more (or less) than suitably dressed for the warm weather. Now having my cute little fluffy white chick magnet is kind of like shooting over a baited field (as we ole southern boys say.) Both dog and rider are alert now for the game. In this fantasy I will stop for a few pets and maybe even some tricks and then invite them over for a pool party to share more tricks. I am in the moment, now ready to make my approach and then it happened. My IPOD fell to the pavement. So I come to a stop midway between where it lays and the two chicks.

“We had motor trouble it turned into a struggle,
Half way ‘cross Alabam,
And that ‘hound broke down and left us all stranded
In downtown Birmingham.”

So there I was, now slightly off game standing there trying to decide exactly how not to loose the serve when I see the ranger coming behind me in his 4 wheel cart. He can’t see the IPOD (for several reasons) and he is headed straight for it. Now I have several hundred of my favorites on that puppy and am not about to loose them so the course is now clear. I leave the dog and bike parked and walk back to retrieve my IPOD. When I pick it up Bo and Cindy are ohing and ahing over the dog that is licking every thing he can reach. It occurs to me that the term lucky dog has new relevance.  The ranger breezes by me without so much as a htfru? and proceeds directly to the damsels and offers them some of his cold cold water from the tank he is carrying to the next station. He then offers them a ride to said station and as they enter his cart in a flash of skin and body parts they wave over their shoulders to me “cute dog” they say as he cranks up the motor and spins away.

“Somebody help me get out of Louisiana
Just help me get to Houston town.
There’s people there who care a little ’bout me
And they won’t let the poor boy down.”

I get back on the bike and adjust the headphones as the dog barks his affection to the departing babes. They look back and giggle and they are gone in the distance. Oh well it has still been a good ride. Just then the most famous riff in rock and roll cranks through my ears and I am in beat with Chuck and happy to be alive.

“Swing low sweet chariot, come down easy
Taxi to the terminal zone;
Cut your engines, cool your wings,
And let me make it to the telephone.

Los Angeles give me Norfolk Virginia,
Tidewater four ten O nine
Tell the folks back home this is the promised land callin’
And the poor boy’s on the line. ”

9 Responses

  1. I love this side of you, pt! And I like your music 🙂 I used to live in Norfolk, BTW. Give the fluffy little Maltese guy a pat for me.

  2. This post is WAY over my head…lol! But I like it anyway! Fakename and i were discussing how it’s often the non-political” posts that get the most comments / views.

    Speaking of iPod, I need to rip a few more tunes to my player for the Vegas flight next month….It’s 2 Gigs and I only have maybe a Gig at most on it.

  3. wtf ru doing posting at 3:54 am dude?

    You can buy flash cards for additional memory too ya know.

    This post was about Chuck Berry’s song and my mindset

  4. Well PT, you caught me with my rock ‘n’ roll panties down! I had no idea Chuck Berry did that song. And it’s not on my double CD of his 24 “greatest hits.” It should be..it’s a fine song.

    As for my posting time, I was doing it at a respectable hour…lol! It’s your UTC time setting that’s the problem. Remember I suggested you change it to UTC minus 4? Because otherwise, your time is set to London. Change it by clicking on “settings”, on the upper right of the dashboard screen.

    I don’t think my MP3 player will take “additional memory” but 2 gigs is fine.

  5. nice post ptfan1. i am a little confused. you have both a chainsaw and a maltese. i figured you for a boxer or pitbull.

  6. That’s me. Pt has the chainsaw and the frou-frou dog (no offense pt, I’ve already said I’ve learned to like the little doggies). I have no chainsaw and a Doberman. Go figure.

  7. Glad you liked the post Nick. I plan to have more of these types down the road. But first I have got to round up the joker and protect Gotham from his devious and diabolical activities.

  8. The Maltese is a story of its own, he has been a real asset to my wife through the hardest of times and now he is like our child. He is very smart and very protective. He thinks he’s a doberman.

  9. Okay ptfan1, I’ll cut you some slcak because you mentioned your wife. I know that if it were up to you, you’d have something that drooled and saw all humans as a potential food source.

Leave a Reply

