My New Year

 

Ken Burns on the Making of JAZZ

“In a filmed interview for a documentary history of our national pastime we made several years ago, the writer and essayist Gerald Early told us that “when they study our civilization two thousand years from now, there will only be three things that Americans will be known for: the Constitution, baseball and jazz music. They’re the three most beautiful things Americans have ever created.”

I agree totally with this marvelous American trinity; so much so that I now plan to spend many more hours during my daily relaxations enjoying them more.

I can do so because I have decided to retire from active employment. The primary reason to do so is very simple, it is because I can. Although not as lavishly as I had hoped I have enough left after the debacle of 2008 to manage my obligations and to provide adequately. I sat down and looked at the numbers and developed the analysis of income and expenses and said ok, “good night and good luck” to associates and now I am a man of leisure. Lol kinda/sorta/maybe.

These are the three things I am most knowledgeable about anyway so I plan to start regular blogging about them. I find that many have conceptions about each of these that restrict the full appreciation, beauty and subsequent understanding of how they define the “American Character.”

The one I know most about is baseball, having played, coached, taught and studied the most. It came to me first at age 7. Then Jazz and American Government came in Jr. High school. I have been intimately involved with them since those early years and hope to be able to share without being a total bore, and to learn more in the process.

I will work on my Blog Page a bit to bring some relevance to the imagery. The current header is from Jekyll Island Georgia on the morning of December 25, 2007. It was a glorious sunrise and a fantastic week but I have celebrated it enough I think.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses

  1. Omg…pt. Now we know your “New Year’s resolution”. Congratulations to you, and may you live long and prosper and move back to N. Florida and go fishing!
    I look forward to your posts about baseball and the Constitution. Jazz–not so much. Listening to jazz makes me physically sick. You think I’m kidding. But there are all sorts of things out now about how music affects the brain. I can take Dixieland, and stuff by Duke Ellington, for example, but if you want to kill me, put me in a room and play Miles Davis or Coltrane. In between stories on NPR they will sometimes play snippets of jazz, and if it goes on for longer than 10 seconds I have to turn it off. I start feeling like I’m going to have a seizure, and I haven’t even ever had a seizure. It isn’t about not liking it…I don’t like rap either, but it doesn’t make me sick. I will depend on you to explain it to me!

  2. So “retirement” was the big change?! Congratulations…!

    I’m looking to retire next year.

    But, I have to disagree on those three. I’m not picking any one as not worthy because I think “film” should be in there. Overall, the American film industry has put out the greatest number of classics in that “art” form and our films are enjoyed worldwide on a way that neither jazz nor baseball are.

Leave a Reply

