Time “Left”

As long as I remember I have enjoyed magazines. As a youngster I never really considered that the content of magazines could have a sophisticated slant that could influence me politically I was just reading them because the owners of the little drugstore I went to sit and cool off in the hot unairconditioned summers of my youth let me do so.  Today I still subscribe to those I can get at an 80% discount. I almost always enjoy reading them, although now I am now attuned to media content manipulation. It’s a subject that is ever more in the news. Just last week several people were interviewed by shocked NPR  staffers  suggesting that public radio should not be getting public dollars to support one particular party at the expense of another. (Can you say Juan Williams?)

 

This weeks Time is a prime example. The cover features incoming Speaker John Boehner, seems appropriate after November 2nds resounding GOP thumping.  The article is well balanced and accurate to my knowledge of Boehner. It is a full 6 and 1/3 pages. I began to wonder a little why the 1/3 page column was placed where it was until I reflected a bit. The adjoining article “Boiling Tea” points out that the Tea Party is a revolt against the Republican Party. This article proves to be a clever transition buffer from a factual article on Boehner to, well I just had to laugh when I turned the page,  next is a nostalgic 6 page photo spread of JFK which is totally out of context of the current events it is positioned between. It is followed by a 2 page spread comparing Obama’s Presidency to JFK’s “Hoping for Audacity.” The articles message is that factors beyond Obama’s control have trapped him into mediocrity and that now is his time to emerge like JFK. The author, a presidential scholar at George Mason University,  says “as a rule, Presidents work within the political consensus they inherit (its all W’s fault), they get to Mount Rushmore by shattering that consensus and replacing it with one of their own “

 

So Time’s slant is there appears to be little hope that Boehner will be anything but a thorn in Obama’s side, aiding to the gridlock that is all the GOPs fault anyway. Now when I was a youngster I might have bought into that slant and walked straight to my Mom  and repeated it. Or when I was a new Dad and didn’t have a lot of experience in the world of politics and just picked up the mag in the pediatricians office and scanned the pics and margin quotes I might have been swayed. Or when I was getting my hair cut I might have clung to the notion that intellectuals are progressive because it’s the “civilized” way to be and that opposing POVs are all Cretans by definition. However after siring and raising 3 kids I find that giving money & services to folks that don’t work for it is a bad model no matter how smart one is.

 

And finally (under Arts) we see Sarah Palin poised in a gun store with an Automatic rifle in her deadly hands, and an Inset of Cleopatra at the top of the page.

 

I get it guys, I just see it all for the clever crock that it is. Sadly many who are too busy to use their intelligence will snicker and guffaw and flock to the polls in with misguided confidence engendered by the MSM who steadfastly maintain they can separate their ideologies from the reporting of news. While Fox on the other hand should be shut down.

 

 

 

 

4 Responses

  1. Wow, pt, it’s been a long time since you posted. You are actually the second person who has mentioned this article on Boehner to me. I’m pretty sure that things will get much worse now…Boehner makes it pretty clear that he is all about No, Hell No, and No Way. It should be very interesting.

  2. Sowell answers “gridlock” much better than I.

    “Whenever the party that controls the White House does not also control Capitol Hill, political pundits worry that there will be “gridlock” in Washington, so that the government cannot solve the nation’s problems.

    Almost never is that fear based on what actually happens when there is divided government, compared to what happens when one party has a monopoly of both legislative and executive branches.

    The last time the federal government had a budget surplus, instead of its usual deficits, there was divided government. That was when the Republicans controlled the House of Representatives, where all spending bills originate, and Bill Clinton was in the White House. The media called it “the Clinton surplus.”

    By the same token, some of the worst laws ever passed were passed when one party had overwhelming majorities in both houses of Congress, as well as being led by their own President of the United States. ObamaCare is a product of the kind of arrogance that so much power breeds.”

    Let’s face it the Dems had it all and let it go to their heads while ignoring too many people.

  3. > some of the worst laws ever passed were passed when one party had overwhelming majorities in both houses of Congress, as well as being led by their own President of the United States.

    Which is what we now have in Florida. So do you expect that we will see the worst laws passed in the next two sessions?

    As for “biased” media, the history of journalism is that it has been primarily advocacy journalism. I do not know when the idea that media should be “objective” came about. Nor do I agree that it should be, because it cannot be.

    We have an ‘adversarial” judicial system. Is that bad? If so, then why do we have it? And if it is not bad, why not adversarial (advocacy) journalism?
    Let folks shift out the “truth”, whatever ti may be, for themselves.

    Or do you think they cannot do so? In which case, there is no basis for representative government.

    I believe most of what i just presented. Which is *partially* why I yam what I yam. Although I do have other reasons for those beliefs.

  4. “Which is what we now have in Florida. So do you expect that we will see the worst laws passed in the next two sessions”

    Florida is set for disaster. Maniacal Governor, term limitations, unlimited constitutional amendments, (lions and tigers and bears oh my……) perhaps the Wiz will come along and save us.

    Biased media gave us Obama and pretended to be objective, bristling at the suggestion that they should wear their true affiliations openly, posing instead as the intellectual guardians of absolute truth. It is called fraud.

    James Poniewozik writes in Nov 29 issue of Time “In 2010 media openness upended old media’s poker-faced stoicism. And it’s about time”

    Perhaps so, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

