11/22/63 I

I could not not buy 11/22/63 by Steven King. The date that changed America changed many of us who lived it and viewed it. While I am neither a total king fan nor a Kennedy apologist, that day was emblazoned in mind. We heard the news while on a Band Bus from Fort Walton to Tallahassee for a HS football game. The game was played but the halftime show was scrubbed for Taps played by a FSU music faculty member. And America changed gradually from enthusiasm and optimism to anger and nihilism.

“It is virtually not assimilable to our reason that a small lonely man felled a giant in the midst of his limousines, his legions, his throng and his security. If such a non-entity destroyed the leader of the most powerful nation on earth, then a world of disproportion engulfs us, and we live in a universe that is absurd.”  Norman Mailer/Steven King

But it is not a biography or documentary it is a fiction about my favorite topic. Time Travel. I have read only 100 of its 849 pages and am enthralled. It helps me remember the simple pleasures of American life in the 50’s. Such as sweet root beer without preservatives, you HAD to drink it before it spoiled….dang. The small glass was a nickel and the large tankard was a dime. Women were nice and wore hats. Men would joke about silly things and wink.

But it will get more serious soon as the school teacher protagonist experiments with changing history with the goal of saving JFK.

http://books.usatoday.com/book/stephen-king-112263-a-novel/r562663

BRB

5 Responses

  1. I guess the book doesn’t get into what would have happened if JFK had not been shot? That’s the part I find “interesting” about the idea of “alternate history.”

    In high school, I read a book called “What if the South Had won the Civil War.” All I remember is that the South rejoined the U.S. at some point.

  2. pt, I’m really glad you found the time and inclination to post. The assassination of JFK was indeed one of those pivotal moments, when everyone remembers where they were at the time. Like 9/11.

  3. I could not believe anyone would kill the President, or why they would want to. We all lost our innocence that day.

  4. FN it was a “watershed” moment. The day after my birthday.

    Thanks for that video ……entirely appropriate. I think you had to have lived through the 50’s in America to understand the desolate depression that followed post JFK.

  5. I’m glad you liked it pt. It makes me cry every time I hear it. It’s like I can feel all over again the loss you will never be able to recover from.I think you’re quite right about the 50’s. I didn’t think anything could be worse than JFK being killed, and then there was 9/11. I had a very odd thought that day, which was that I was glad neither of my parents were alive to see it. I thought Pearl Harbor was enough shock for their lifetimes.

Leave a Reply

